I’m discovering many sad things during my trip in Italy. Last time I was here, it was 10 years ago. Now, away from the turistic spots , I have the opportunity to unveil what’s going on in this country.

The Coffee : The espresso is pretty strong. They serve it in a small cup called ” tazzina ” . You can try it in a ” BAR ” . The word BAR , here means ” Coffee Shop ” and isn’t a place in which you go to party and to dance. Even if, Italians didn’t invent coffee, they became the best in making it. Drinking Coffee is a culture in Italy, is a must. 

  
Smoking : Walking down the streets, I noticed that so many Italians smoke cigarettes! The electronic cigarettes, in Italy were and aren’t successful. Italians are smokers for sure. I wasn’t really expecting it and it has been a new revelation to me. 

  
The English Language : Italians are very proud to ” be Italians ” but it seems like they don’t fully love other cultures. I spent a good amount of time on the phone with my friends and, I noticed that while walking on the streets, people look at me like if I was an Alien . I’m simply speaking English but I guess they aren’t used to. In Italy there are mainly Italians and isn’t like the USA : a blend of different cultures.
ETNICITY : This is the part that infuriate me the most. Often at the corners of the streets or on big roads, I see Afro Americans or Asian. They try to clean your car windows or they try to sell you small packets of tissues. Italians aren’t open to welcome other culture . Here there is also the Unenployment problem. Italians struggle in finding a job and that makes even harder for a non Italian to find a job. 

MERCATO : This word is used to define a kind of ” Flea Market ” but more ” Fancy “. They mainly sell shoes, purses and clothes. If you are lucky enough , you can find brand name clothes. The prices are cheaper then the stores and people start to hit the ” Mercato ” early in the morning. It can be early like 7.30 am. Of course, during the ” clothes hunt ” you might find a brand name purse or shoes or clothes that’s fake. Some people are experts and know how to scout the difference. The Mercato gets pretty crowed. The sellers scream so much to get people attention that I had to cover my ears at a certain point. 

  
SMACK : I’m not sure why but Italians refer to the word ” smack ” as for ” kiss “. They believe that smack means kiss! That’s kinda funny !!!

Americans = Fat : I was having a conversation with this Guy. He couldn’t believe I was American. He said that all the American are Fat and that I was too skinny to be an American. Is this how Italians see Americans ? I guess so.

GELATO : A must try. The famous Italian Ice Cream. They have so many different flavors!!!It starts out with a similar custard base as ice cream, but has a higher proportion of milk and a lower proportion of cream and eggs (or no eggs at all). It is churned at a much slower rate, incorporating less air and leaving the gelato denser than ice cream.

  
Gelato is served at a slightly warmer temperature than ice cream, so its texture stays silkier and softer. Because it has a lower percentage of fat than ice cream, the main flavor ingredient really shines through.

  
LINDT : In Italy this chocolate is very famous! If you try it, you will know why. They have entire stores dedicated to this brand of chocolate . It is heaven for kids and adults !

  

