》 Carmel. NY 《

World’s Largest . World’s Tallest. World’s smallest . I want to see them all.  I’m fascinated by this kind of ” Objects ” as much as i’m with roadside attractions.

During my travels, while I was searching for unusual things to see and to do, I found out about the Tallest Buddha On The East Coast. 

Needless to say that I had to go and see it.

The Chuang Yen  Monastery is a very tall and large and tall structure, however if you do not have directions you won’t be able to find it. It isn’t something visible from the road.

The outside part of the Monastery is absolutely gorgeous. The Grounds are well taken care and there are multiple statues of different Monks. 



What captured my attention and stole a big smile, was a sign located in the front of the building . Nowdays, it is hard to find and see and meet real vegetarian people and when that happens it is always a pleasure.


And then there is the Main Building. 

 Inside the Great Buddha Hall , sits the 37-foot tall statue of the Buddha Vairocana. This figure is encircled by 10,000 smaller Buddha statuettes arranged on a Lotus terrace semi circle that surround the humongous statue. It was really relaxing to sit there and meditate in silence .



You can only get free books inside the Main Hall . They accept donation. I bought a little book and I left a donation as well.

You must leave your shoes outside the Main Hall. It is a peaceful place to spend quiet and relaxing time and if you need to escape from the real world , I would strongly recommend a visit. You don’t need e reason to go there, just go and enjoy !

